Lamenting angst

If one can grieve
what never was

if unfulfilled
wistfulness is
worthy of sorrow

If could’ve should’ve
maybe regretfulness
can be mourned

I will go to the wake
pay my respects
sing praises lifting
an anthem of toasts
to the dearly departed

Then I’ll tip my hat
leave my money on the
bar and the mourners
behind their veils

to pick up the
dirty glasses and lock
the barroom door

– Mark L. Lucker
© 2017
http://lrd.to/sxh9jntSbd

About poetluckerate

I am a poet, writer and teacher who moved from Minnesota to New Orleans in 2008 to help rebuild the worst public school system in America. It is a huge challenge to say the least. Writing - in many different forms and ways - has saved me untold thousands in therapy bills throughout the years. Reading my writings may do either the same - or just the opposite - for you. Read at your own risk, as I do not offer writer malpractice insurance. ;-{) I hope you enjoy what you read here.
This entry was posted in Introspection, Philosophies, Snippets and snapshots, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lamenting angst

  1. slpmartin says:

    Love the twist at the end.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 8-Year-Old Angst |

Leave a Reply

